Storytelling at Work
July 19, 2018
11 Amazon Reviews of My Book

SFTR COVER2.jpg

POSITIVE INSIGHTS TO TRANSFORM THESE TIMES

"Inspiring and provocative, this book reminds us all that we must act and tell our stories to the stir soul of possibility in others. What I love about Mitch's writing is that it always bends toward the positive and whispers, 'Come on. Join me in this journey'. If you are looking to transform your energy into action and use your voice to shape a positive future, you came to the right place!" -- Doug Stuke


LIKE SPARKLING LIGHT SHINING ON A LAKE

"Mitch Ditkoff's 40 stories are like sparkling light shining on a lake on a glorious summer day. You many think I'm exaggerating. I'm not. Mitch brings his characters to life with vivid detail -- they are altogether believable: his canasta playing mother, his entrepreneurial father, his congenial family rabbi. There is the ecstatic Shlomo Carlebach. But most intriguing is of his beloved teacher, Prem, who gives Mitch two words of advice: More spice. These two words, Mitch takes to heart in this, his newest collection -- it is indeed spicy! But it's not just the splashy moments that make it into this book -- the simple quiet moments are there as well, as in 'A Bag of Small Red Berries.' Reading these stories by Mitch Ditkoff made me want to dig and recover my own stories. I was enraptured." -- Jiya Kowarsky


INSPIRING, INFORMATIVE, VALUABLE and a COMPELLING READ

"After you read this book, you too will agree that we could create change in the world if we could all tell our stories. When we have the courage to tell our stories, we form a bond with each other that no one can defeat or overwhelm. The book is a compelling read because the stories are wonderful, and then, Mitch provides us with an extraordinary, step-by-step guide to using storytelling in your life: in schools, workplaces, organizations, families, among friends. His "Field Guide" is inspiring, accessible, and user-friendly! This book is original and a much-needed manual for healing our planet!" -- Susan Page

MITCH IS ON A MISSION

"Storytelling for the Revolution is my favorite of Mitch's books. Here we find Mitch on a mission to help unlock the tacit knowledge that we all possess in the form of remembered stories of the events of our lives. The first part of the book is a collection of some of Mitch's favorite life stories all told in that same enjoyable, but concise way we've gotten to know from Mitch's previous writings. The second part of the book, however, is a handbook for how to unlock your own innate wisdom via storytelling and how to help others do so as well. Whether Mitch is sharing a personal story that resonates with one's own life experience or is revealing the principles for discovering one's own stories and facilitating others to do so, the reader's experience is one of enjoyment. If you're interested in the art and craft of storytelling, this is the book for you. If you're not interested, it still is." -- Val Vadeboncoeur


PROFOUND GUIDE TO OUR COLLECTIVE STORYTELLING

"Mitch Ditkoff is not just a master-storyteller, he's driven to provide the rest of us with the 'how to' so we can all become master-storytellers. The reader is launched on a journey to foment their own personal revolution of the heart. It's a great guide to help us bond with each other by telling our stories and sharing our wisdom. It's a great read and it's a great guide!" -- Elizabeth Swan


THIS IS MY FAVORITE MITCH DITKOFF BOOK

"I love short stories with a message and Mitch Ditkoff is an expert at that. He has a gift. I had read two previous books by him and truly enjoyed them both. For me, this latest book is his best. I'm finding it very special because several of the stories have struck chords that not only have revived memories but have allowed me to see my present relationships much clearer. One of my favorite stories, so far, is My Father's Last Breath. The author's capacity to use the right words, in such a stunning and descriptive way, took me back in time, to my father's bedside, 33 years ago... reviving some of those emotional last moments. Fortunately, I still have a bunch of stories yet to read." -- Michael Dorfman


A MUST READ FOR ANYONE SEEKING TO TAP INTO HUMANITY'S COLLECTIVE WISDOM

"Mitch taps into the deep well of our collective wisdom and reclaims the collective narrative for the greater good. Storytelling for the Revolution is a rallying cry for people to recognize their deep meaningful connections with others and reminds us that we are not alone. It is a groundbreaking work in its simplicity and profundity. An important, seminal work for our age." -- Mike Frick


FUNNY, TOUCHING, PROFOUND and ENTERTAINING STORIES WITH a MORAL

"Mitch is a very old soul. A joker, a heart thinker, a midnight talker, a classic illuminated, opinionated jester. His stories run the gamut from the mystical rabbis from the shtetl, to a dissertation on Camembert, to the truly profound. Some are traditional, some autobiographical, some probably entirely fabricated. He awakens my own stories, the ones I always promise myself I will write someday. Except he does write his, and many others. I am so glad he does. Because his stories touch me, entertain me and make me think. They also awaken my humanity. Like any good story should, each one has a moral, something juicy to absorb or ponder." -- Jean Paul Peretz


HITTING A HOME RUN EVERY TIME

"Mitch is a great storyteller, and his stories are always filled with meaning, words that inspire and transform us as we read. With a combination of spice and humor, his words give me an insight into my own life experiences. This is a great book. You can open to any one of the many stories and find a surprise that hits you right at home in yourself." -- Sharon Jeffers


I LOVE A GOOD STORY

"I love a good story and Mitch tells and writes the best. I was laughing out loud for some and moved to tears from others. It's a book you don't want to put down. The stories and their insightful messages linger and made me contemplate my life. I highly recommend Storytelling for the Revolution as a must read and a great gift." -- Claudia Hirsch


BRILLIANT HUMOR AND INSIGHT

"This book is a reflection of the vast knowledge of Mitch Ditkoff. He is a prolific writer/storyteller and, in this book, he shares this wisdom, humor and insight so brilliantly. I loved it! Thanks for reminding me how important storytelling really is in all of our lives!" -- Dr. Beverly Nelson

StorytellingForTheRevolution.com

Posted by Mitch Ditkoff at 09:10 PM | Comments (0)

April 28, 2018
HIGHER SELF MEDITATIONS

higher-meditation.jpg

Higher Self Meditations, as its name implies, offers meditations on your higher Self. Its 52 chapters provide clear understanding of why meditation is more successful when it effortlessly lets the Universe do it for you; explain how to contact your higher Self; give you a sense of the far-reaching benefits of such contact; offer a clear understanding of higher states of consciousness awaiting you; and show how meditation and higher consciousness relate to the creative arts, philosophy, the sciences, and so much more.

Cary Bayer, a Life Coach who has worked with Oscar-winners Alan Arkin and Pietro Scalia, Emmy-winners comic/director David Steinberg and Judy Henderson, and Quality Inns, founded Higher Self Healing Meditation in 2010.

A former teacher of Transcendental Meditation (TM), and a trainer of TM teachers, Cary studied with Maharishi Mahesh Yogi, Deepak Chopra, and Ram Dass, and taught meditation to hundreds of people from southern California and the Caribbean to Western Europe and Australia.

Cary's website

Posted by Mitch Ditkoff at 01:11 AM | Comments (0)

February 22, 2018
Welcome to the First Interspecies Book Marketing Campaign

12342379_10153359550391158_6181086655791305066_n.jpg

The book Chili recommends
If you don't believe my dog
A story from the book
Other dogs who also like the book
The Amazon reviews of the book

Posted by Mitch Ditkoff at 03:38 PM | Comments (0)

February 01, 2018
Seth Godin on Book Publishing

Seth-Godin 2.jpg

If you are planning on publishing a book any time soon and would like a lucid guide to what's happening in the strangely fascinating world of publishing, click here for Seth Godin's latest insights.

My 2015 self-published book on storytelling
My 2018 self-published book on storytelling (May)

Posted by Mitch Ditkoff at 05:33 PM | Comments (0)

June 25, 2017
A Lean Six Sigma View of STORYTELLING AT WORK

SAW cover2.jpg

Here is a wonderful review of my book, Storytelling at Work, by Elisabeth Swan, the Managing Director of GoLeanSixSigma.

A unique perspective Ms. Swan has -- many years experience in the realm of continuous improvement, six sigma, lean management, and lean six sigma. Plus, she does improv!

I like what Albert Einstein had to say about the condundrum: "Not everything that counts can be counted; not everything that can be counted counts." Which is one of the reasons why storytelling is such a powerful tool. It allows a person to deliver a meaningful, memorable message without discounting the part of a themselves that knows and gets things done without measuring.

VIDEO: Why storytelling works
MitchDitkoff.com
Idea Champions

Posted by Mitch Ditkoff at 01:20 PM | Comments (0)

February 17, 2016
What Do LeBron James, Michael Phelps, Mary Lou Retton, and Mitch Ditkoff Have in Common?

7171648.jpg
Give up? They are all Bronze Medal winners -- LeBron, Michael, and Mary Lou in various Olympics and Mitch in the just announced 2016 Axiom Business Book Awards competition in the Success/Motivation/Coaching category.

The Bronze Medal, in case you've been in a coma since 1904 (when it was first bestowed at the St. Louis Olympics) is awarded to the third place finisher. I must admit that when I first heard that I was a Bronze Medal winner, I was disappointed, hoping for the Gold or, at least, the Silver medal.

But then I read about some research done by social psychologists, in 1995, that showed that Bronze Medal winners were significantly happier than those who had won the Silver Medal -- comforting, indeed, as I highly value happiness, one of the key themes of my Bronze Medal winning book, STORYTELLING AT WORK: How Moments of Truth on the Job Reveal the Real Business of Life.

MD headshot.png

Further research revealed that one of my favorite comedians of all time, Jerry Seinfeld, shed light on this topic in 2008. Seinfeld's rant on this little understood phenomena, I am thrilled to say, is more proof that my winning of the Bronze Medal is something to be happy about.

Silver Medalists, you see, are usually depressed about not winning the Gold, but Bronze Medalists are happy they didn't come in fourth and be completely ignored -- not that I am looking to walk through life with an Axiom Book Award medal around my neck, BUT... I am glad that my recently published Storytelling at Work has gotten some recognition because this may translate into more sales which, of course, will lead to more income and the increased possibility of doing keynotes on the power of storytelling OR, if my clients choose a Gold or Silver Medal winner instead of me for their keynote, then my chances of delivering either of my two storytelling workshops: Creating the Innovation Mindset or Storytelling at Work: The Workshop will have increased.

In any case, I tip my hat to the good people of the Axiom Book Awards for their kind recognition of my book. And I also tip my hat to the Gold and Silver Medal winners in my category, as well as the author who tied for the Bronze Medal. I'm sure they are great people with their own increased optimism that their books will have increased visibility.

If you are interested in how this newly crowned Bronze Medal winner (that's me, Mitch Ditkoff, folks) and his company can spark innovation in your company, let me hear from you (mitch@ideachampions.com) or just log onto Amazon and buy my book to see what all the fuss is about.

Below are some links that will give you a better understanding of why Storytelling at Work won an Axiom Book Award, how storytelling, consciously done, can spark innovation, wisdom, and massive amounts of renewed employee engagement.

Three minute video: why storytelling matters
Voice America radio interview
Amazon reviews of the book
Harnessing the Power of Storytelling
Storytelling at Work podcast
Book of the Month selection:
Other articles on storytelling
What my clients say
My new storytelling blog

Posted by Mitch Ditkoff at 09:49 AM | Comments (0)

January 22, 2016
STORYTELLING AT WORK: The Amazon Reviews Are In!

Writing with red pencil2.jpg

In 2015, somewhere between 600,000 and 1,000,000 books were published. How many of them are YOU going to read? Probably less than ten. That's why I'm quoting the following people who have reviewed my book on Amazon. I want mine to be one of those ten.

michalko.jpg
"Mitch Ditkoff's book about the value of storytelling at work is truly a gem. It has made me realize that a story can be a mnemonic device for complex, creative thoughts and insights. The stories made me think of how things work, how we create our identities and values and gave me a better understanding of my place in the world. Give yourself a gift and read this book and you will see the world with new eyes." - Michael Michalko


staff_val.jpg"Here's a little gem about storytelling. First, 38 bite-sized stories from the author's own business and life experience, all told in a carefree, flawless style that belies the craft that made them. And, told with a kind of impish humor that sometimes reminds one of Kurt Vonnegut Jr. which is high praise, I know. Then, at the end, some advice and inspiration about telling your own stories. I can't imagine anyone not enjoying the ride here...or should I say "rides?" Five stars." -- Val Vadeboncoeur


Tim.jpg
"If a picture is worth 1,000 words, a good story is worth a million. Mitch Ditkoff understands how to communicate so that readers understand. In his long history in business and life, he has not only been innovative, but to the point. His stories will change the way you work. Congratulations to the author who writes for the improvement of excellence in the work place, but gives priority to improvement of excellence in the human being." -- Tim Gallwey


JEFFERS.png
"I love this book! Each story inspires me. Each one is so personal. Every story is filled with wisdom, reflection, and great insight. They cause me to reflect, think, and take action of some kind. It's quite magical, actually -- a joy to read, and inspiration for living. I don't want the book to end, so Mr. Ditkoff, you need to get started on Volume 2." -- Sharon Jeffers


"This book will change your life, or at the very least the way you perceive your day-to-day experiences in your place of employment. The profound insight of the author has brought me to a new understanding of my busy work life and ways of actually enjoying what I do to earn my living." -- Debbie Leppla


bb.jpg
"I am reading this book in a non-linear way, picking it up each day and letting the pages open to a story. It's too rich and full of insight to read straight through. This is a book that offers inner shifts through good humorous soulful storytelling, exploring the lively and fascinating landscape of work and life. It's a gem!" -- Barbara Bash


THOM.jpg "Mitch's collection of stories from his rich and varied career have everything I love: humor, wit, insight, and everyman sensibility combined. Whether he's writing about working as a night clerk in a seedy hotel and being challenged to an arm-wrestling match by a CIA agent, or interviewing homeless people on the streets of NYC, or leading creative thinking seminars for Fortune 500 companies, Mitch knows how to draw us in, then peer into the human beings he encounters, and finally arrive at some glimpse of wisdom." -- Thom Adorney


"This is an amazing book by one of my top three favorite authors. It is written with humility and humor, and is filled with heart-warming, wonderful stories. The refreshing flow and beauty of the author's words wash my mind with waves of consciousness that connect with my center, inspiring me to respect my dreams and to write and share my own stories. His generosity of spirit and loving heart encourage each of us to love the best of who we are, to risk growing and to write and share our bounty with one another." -- Ginger Haffey


joan.jpg
"Having led rites of passage and The Council Process, I understand the importance of story. The importance of story is not only in the telling of our stories, but also in the transformative power of really being listened to. The author's premise is that we all have amazing wisdom within us, and that story telling is a direct route into meaning and purpose. This enthralling book starts out as a collection of wonderful personal stories and what meaning they can bring to the reader. It ends up more like universal truth, the big picture of how we humans on planet earth can transform and thrive. This is a book that touches the heart, the human being that knows much more by feeling than can ever be known by the mind." -- Joan Apter


"I just finished this wonderful and enlightening book! It was fun to read, full of amazing life stories, and ideas of how we might use them to improve our lives at work and play! Being open to POSSIBILITIES, the unexpected, and the benevolence of the universe is the very best way to live, and Mitch shows us this over and over again with his simple, child like wonder, and amazing experiences! I wish I had read this many years ago while running several businesses, and not really living to my true potential!" -- James Burns


SCOTT.jpg"We all have stories to tell. We tell them everyday, but seldom reflect on the experience and learn from them in a conscious way. Mitch Ditkoff shares his own stories in a way that allows the reader to slow down and capture the essence of the moment. He compels one to reflect and learn from what was so that what will be can a avoid a repeat of the past." -- Scott Cronin


"Mitch Ditkoff has once again produced a powerful platform -- story telling -- that allows the reader to become an integral part these stories. While they are stories about Ditkoff's life experiences, the stories are, in effect, universal in their powerful message to all that are fortunate enough to read them. I am greatly appreciative for this spiritual journey he shares with the reader." -- Steven Ornstein


"I liked how the book teaches the art of storytelling through the author's entertaining real life tales while making readers ask: what do my life stories mean? And the section on the art and science of storytelling provided some inspiring background and practical tips. Great read!" -- Chris Corbett


erika crop.png"Mitch Ditkoff is a marvelous storyteller. In this book, he draws you into his stories to take you backstage, if you will, where you can see the invisible wiring: how stories teach, connect and inspire, and how to find and tell your own stories. As Mitch points out, we are all storytellers. He speaks to us in our native tongue, and encourages us to reply." -- Erika Andersen


"I got my copy of Mitch Ditkoff's storytelling book a couple of weeks before the book was officially launched. Three days later, the world watched as mis-wired humans under the influence of ISIS killed 130 people in Paris. It had been a long day for me by the time I sat in bed to turn off the lights. I needed a story to digest the day and properly turn its page. By my bed, among a goodly herd of books, the Bible and Ditkoff were looking at me. I chose Ditkoff. I needed something new to match the news. And turning to the bookmark where I had left off two days earlier, I saw this arresting title: The Afghani Cab Driver. As you can sense. even from the title, this story was timed well, but you need to read the story itself to see how it was a perfect dressing for the wounds of that particular day." -- Theodore Phelps


CARL_.jpg
"The meta-moral in this collection of engaging stories is that wisdom emerges unexpectedly out of real-life experience. And (I guess this is Meta-Moral #2): That wisdom can be applied effectively in the workplace. The book provides examples of how this happens in a style that makes the material fun and easily digestible. It's stimulating personally and will also be useful to anyone in business who's interested in how stories (the stories that happen to us AND the stories in our head!) feed and support creativity. Recommended!" -- Carl Frankel


"Mitch's delightful way of writing has shown to me how to start telling my own life experiences and, more importantly, reflect on what I've gained from them to become a better person. His lighthearted and thoughtful way will motivate and guide you how to do the same. Highly recommended." -- Darin Selby


ALLEN FELD.jpg
"This book is wonderful. Mr. Ditkoff is a communicator whose wisdom, sense of humor, and overall humanity would not only be applicable in the boardroom, but also in any room in any home on the planet. His observations/life experiences are a unique combination of mind and heart which brings tears and laughter. Well done." -- Allen Feld


"This is a must-read book for invigorating your company's culture and creating real-life, meaningful stories which will help enhance customer-infatuation about your company (and yourself). This is one of the best down-to-earth books about what we take for granted but which creates significant differentiation about ourselves as real humans and the company-culture which makes us unique. You can learn the lessons and start your own story immediately!" -- Justin McCarthy


"A fantastic book which nails a number of topics which are being recognized as powerful tools to help cut through complexity and and reveal truly what is occurring in the workplace. Another winner from a top innovator himself." -- Ella Kaaz


Faheyjpg.jpg
"Storytelling at Work is funny, wise, relatable and most importantly, reminded me of how to be more courageous in every day life... both work life and personal. A must read." -- MaryJane Fahey


Convinced? Buy the book on Amazon

Mitch Storytelling BackCover.jpg

VOICEAMERICA: Radio interview with Mitch Ditkoff

Review of the book on Innovation Excellence
Idea Champions

Posted by Mitch Ditkoff at 11:20 AM | Comments (0)

ABOUT THE BLOG

Storytelling at Work is a blog about the power of personal storytelling – why it matters and what you can do to more effectively communicate your stories – on or off the job. Inspired by the book of the same name, the blog features "moment of truth" stories by the author, Mitch Ditkoff, plus inspired rants, quotes, and guest submissions by readers.

Order the book:

MitchDitkoff.com
Click here for the simplest, most direct way, to learn more about Idea Champions' semi-fearless leader, Mitch Ditkoff. Info on his keynotes, workshops, conferences, and more.
Storytelling for the Revolution
Storytelling for the Revolution is Mitch Ditkoff's newly published book about the power of personal storytelling to elevate the conversation on planet Earth. Provocative. Evocative. And fun. YOU have stories to tell. This book will help you tell them.
Storytelling at Work
"The world is not made of atoms," wrote the poet, Muriel Rukeyser. "It's made of stories." Learn how to discover, honor, and unpack the stories of yours that show up "on the job" in Mitch Ditkoff's award-winning 2015 book, Storytelling at Work.
Top 5 Speaker
Mitch Ditkoff, the Co-Founder and President of Idea Champions, has recently been voted a top 5 speaker in the field of innovation and creativity by Speakers Platform, a leading speaker's bureau.
Authorized Reseller Logo – GoLeanSixSigma.com
Workshops & Trainings
Highly engaging learning experiences that increase each participant's ability to become a creative force for positive change
Brainstorm Facilitation
High impact certification training that teaches committed change agents how to lead groundbreaking ideation sessions
Cultivating Innovation
Your "best and brightest" are the future leaders of your company, but unless they know how to foster a culture of innovation, their impact will be limited. A one-day workshop with us is all they need to begin this journey.
Our Blog Cabin
Our Heart of Innovation blog is a daily destination for movers and shakers everywhere — gleefully produced by our President, Mitch Ditkoff, voted "best innovation blogger in the world" two years running.
Team Innovation
Innovation is a team sport. Brilliant ideas go nowhere unless your people are aligned, collaborative, and team-oriented. That doesn't happen automatically, however. It takes intention, clarity, selflessness, and a new way of operating.
Webinars Powered by
Idea Champions University
Webinars for online training If you enjoy our blog, you will love our newly launched webinars! Our training is now accessible online to the whole world.
Awake at the Wheel, Book about big ideas If you're looking for a powerful way to jump start innovation and get your creative juices flowing, Awake at the Wheel is for you. Written by Mitch Ditkoff, Co-Founder and President of Idea Champions.
Face the Music Blues Band The world's first interactive business blues band. A great way to help your workforce go beyond complaint.

"In tune with corporate America." — CNN
© IDEA CHAMPIONS